Golf Cart and Mini Truck Permit Application
Application Form


 

Permit to purchase handgun

Applicants for permits to purchase handguns must apply in person to the police department in the city in which they live and present a valid Minnesota driver's license or identification card with their current address. If there is no police department, they must apply to the sheriff's office in the county in which they reside. Benson residents may apply for a permit to purchase (not carry) at the Benson Police Department 1410 Kansas Ave. Benson, MN 56215. Public service hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Application forms may be obtained by following this link to the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Form.

Purchase:

• Complete application. All areas of application must be filled in completely. Falsified applications will be reviewed for possible criminal prosecution.
• You must be 18 years old to acquire or possess a handgun or military-style assault weapon. Federal law requires you to be 21 years old to acquire handguns from licensed dealers.
• You must not have been convicted of a crime of violence. Definitions of crimes of violence can be found in MN Statue 624.712 subdivision 5. This portion does not apply if 10 years has lapsed since your sentence has expired.
• You must not have been convicted of 5th degree assault as defined in MN Statue 609.224 subdivision 3, paragraph (b).
• You must not have been convicted of domestic assault as defined in MN Statue 609.2242.
• You must not have been court ordered committed to a treatment facility. This portion does not apply if documentation can be provided that you have completed treatment. (Peace Officer must be provide information pertaining to informal treatment programs attended).
• You must not have been convicted of unlawful use, possession or sale of a controlled substance.
• You must not have been convicted of a felony unless 10 years has lapsed since completion of your sentence.
• You must not be a fugitive. Any type of warrant classifies you as a fugitive.
• You must not be a user of a controlled substance. Controlled substances are defined in MN Statue 152.
• You must be a US Citizen or Legal Alien.
• You must not have been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces.
• You must not be the subject of a restraining order.

 

 

Nixel

Receive community safety alerts instantly by text message and email! Registration is quick, easy and secure. Sign up now!

 

 

learn
alert
services

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© 2013 www.bensonpolice.org. All Rights Reserved.